Reviews

The structure is very simple, they don't have a lot of facilities. I liked the neighborhood, is kind of a residential one, not so crowded, and near 2 subway stations. The front desk guy took us out some nights, it was fun. But one thing to notice: the beds aren't that comfortable. The matresses are the thinnest I've ever seen! You can even feel the metal structure of the bed on your back!

g_marianaa
October 12, 2016

I was flicking between 4 and 5 stars for a hostel
The Great things!
-the cheapest hostel you will find..if you listen to people's complaints they need a reality check. 5 to 7pounds per night....I would pay this to camp on someone's floor. If you want a hotel book a hotel!!!
-close to the centre....5mins by metro or 35 min walk
-Nice Hot showers
-The manager Shaun is SO Friendly and always happy to help. From lending toothpaste to arranging nights out...he really is the key to this hostel!! Beth who also helps is again...lovely,

SO...why 4stars?
...the mattresses were thin and got uncomfortable to sleep on...but I was here for 5 nights!
...also some of the toilets have no seats...but it's not the end of the world...most of them are fine!

Some people moan about no kitchen....but there is a kettle and cheap restaurants everywhere...You're in prague guys! Splash out on a 4pound meal!

Hollypiex
September 12, 2016

Excellent hostel. Its a 10 minute tram ride downtown to the tourists areas but you get to experience life among locals. The evenings in this neighborhood are very enjoyable, different musicians play every night at the deck beside the roundabout and the scattered sidewalk cafes are always alive and relaxed with locals in the evening. The prices are noticeably lower than the old town tourist areas. Sean and Beth are great! They run a clean, friendly and efficient hostel. The internet is good.

Anonymous
September 12, 2016

Friendly staff and a great location only a short walk to the Old Town. Bathrooms and toilets are a bit outdated and dirty at times, but for the price it was what we expected. We also made use of the washing facilities which was extremely helpful for around 3 euro. One downside for us was that we planned to go out with the hostel and they cancelled on us 30 mins before meaning we had no bar crawl that night. Overall; you get what you pay for, but the staff and the facilities were satisfactory.

Anonymous
September 1, 2016

Hostel Fontana is truly a gem. The staff are beyond friendly. Any questions I had about Prague were answered with kindness, understanding, and enthusiasm. I never felt like I was in the way or a nuisance as I have felt in other hostels in Europe. In fact, I do not think I have enough time or space to write all the positive things in have to say about my stay here. In short, I emplore all who visit Prague to get themselves to Hostel Fontana.

Anonymous
August 6, 2016

The staff was helpful and welcoming. Really tried to interact with the guests. Only problem I had with this hostel is the cleanliness. My sheets were freshly changed but smelled like mildew. The bathrooms were pretty small and one of the toilet seats wasn't even attached to the toilet. Bathrooms also had a sewage smell. Besides that, not a bad place to stay for a couple of days. Pretty close to the metro and several tram stops and not hard to find your way into town. Rooms don't lock though!

Anonymous
August 4, 2016

Firstly, notice that all the terrible reviews are from over a year ago. Whatever it used to be like, the hostel was amazing as of July 2016. The stay was exceedingly cheap. The room of 8 was clean, cool and plenty big enough. Showers were maybe a little unclean or inconsistent but hey its a hostel - no serious complaints here. The hostel is barebones and pleasantly simple. It is located near Hrad├žanska station, from where you can take the metro into the city for 24 crowns. Nearby are good pubs and mini markets. Now what makes this the best hostel I stayed in? Sean, who works reception, is genuinely a fantastic host. He welcomed us, recommended things, led us on a pub crawl (a must do, by the way) and went out of his way to accommodate us generally. Stay here for a great time in Prague.

Matt T
August 3, 2016

If you want to find somewhere to meet people and have a great time, but don't mind compromising on comfort for a few nights, this is the place for you. Hostel manager is very friendly and invites everybody out to pubs and bars. However, the beds are very uncomfortable- can feel the wooden structure through the mattress. There are not enough showers for the amount of people staying at the hostel. This hostel is great value for money though- you get what you pay for.

Anonymous
July 25, 2016

A comfy and homey little place with a very good 'vibe' about it - as everyone was in a very good mood it seemed. The owner, Daniel, was a pleasant and helpful fellow and would attend to your needs right away. I slept very well (And, in fact have gone back to stay there for 5 more nights as I write this, now 6th January) and my showers were steamy hot. The location is superb; only 5 minutes' walk from the subway, or trams, and a really cool and un-touristed area of the city in its own right.

Anonymous
December 20, 2015

Liked: The hostel manager was awesome. Hostel is located in a prime place which is close to city center. As it is close to tram station you can get back any time at night. Wifi connection was good.

Disliked: Toilets were too congested. Its a bit old hostel and need some redecorations.

Anonymous
August 30, 2015